2016 Favourites

Hello 2017. *Insert obligatory new year new me shit here.* Let’s be honest, these next few months will 100% be me trying to post and drowning in college work instead. I am trying to find a weekly upload time that I will actually stick to, because to be honest it would be nice for this blog to actually go somewhere rather than the bedrooms of me and everyone I beg to read. Hi Facebook friends lots of love xxx

post-1

But back to obligatory writings, and my favourite things of 2016. I have a lot of areas to cover and things to include, let me know if you want info on anything else and any posts you want from me in the comments, and let’s jump straight in.

As a music lover and concert addict, although my concert count for last year was lower than usual, this year should definitely make up for that. But last year’s albums made up for it too. Even though it only came out in November, Little Mix’s Glory Days was DEFINITELY my favourite album of the year. It’s just full of feel good catchy songs, like the girls always are, and no one can deny these four are dropping banger after banger at the moment. The album does not disappoint. I also can’t go without mentioning Illuminate by Shawn Mendes. B e a u t i f u l. Wow. I mean this boy has achieved many of my life goals and is only a few months older than me. His album reflects his passion and talent and I cannot wait to see him put it all on stage in April. James Arthur’s album Back from the Edge was another album full of talent and passion, but held a deeper meaning, connecting with his struggles with mental health, so many of the songs would definitely reassure someone of the same position. His songs are just so easy to listen to and love. Trying to sing them however… give me a few more weeks and a little bit of heartbreak. And finally I can’t not mention Dangerous Woman by Ariana Grande. Every album mentioned features insane voices and Ariana’s definitely comes to match. Her songs have the same feeling as LM with feel good songs for women that are a little bit PG when appropriate, if you know what I mean. I could probably list you all four of these album track lists in order because this is all I had on repeat in 2016.

Now TV addict Niamh watched some fab series in 2016. It can go without saying I loved Stranger Things, but I can’t bring myself to write what everyone else has. NBC’s Chicago PD has been amazing this past season. I used to love The Bill and this has that sort of esq to it with police drama, it also has one of my favourite actresses (Sophia Bush) and onscreen couples and I just can’t not love it. Now ABC has the best Thursday night TV on planet earth and it deeply upsets me that I’m not American and cannot fully appreciate it. Instead I have to wait and watch it … other ways. (On Netflix in like 8 years YAWN no, I’ll drop you some links wink wink.) ((If I never post again here is why.)) ANYWAY they air Scandal, How to Get Away with Murder and Grey’s Anatomy all in one night and honestly that is just the best night of TV ever. If you’re American and don’t appreciate that then never talk to me. When I go to New York in March I actually might just stay in the hotel on the Thursday to live my dream. Big plans. These three TV shows have produced such amazing seasons for 2016 and I can’t wait to see what this year brings. If you’ve never watched any of these shows I can safely say you’re missing out, every single one is 10/10 trust me. (And the first seasons of some are on Netflix I think lol.)  Now as much as I love PLL 2016 shall not be discussed as there were some good eps there were many… many pointless ones and for that I pray that these last 10 in April do one of my favourite programmes justice.

In terms of films I’d not seen many new ones last year, although the list of ones I’ve wanted to see has been as long as my arm. One I did see and LOVED was London has fallen. I love the first film Olympus has fallen and even though it was basically the same storyline, it’s a genre I just love. Along with White House Down, films where they try to attack the president etc, although scary, are always so so good. I definitely think I can be more of an Action film kind of girl, than chick flicks, but I do love a good chick flick. I did see Me before You aswell and cried a bit but not as much as I expected. It was a really lovely film though, definitely worth a girly night in watch. I only read a few books too, I read Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour on holiday, and really loved how realistic it seemed. It wasn’t a rushed and forced love story, and it was really original from things I’ve read before. Similarly on originality was We Were Liars. Oh. My. GOD. READ THIS BOOK. I read it all in one night, I didn’t go to sleep until 4am because I was so addicted. I can’t even explain it because I’ll give it away. Just read it. It was amazing.

Finally for the chunk we’ve all been waiting for. Make-up. I purchased a set of Morphe brushes this year off beauty bay for such a good price and I don’t think I can fault them. I’m no make-up expert, as much as I’d love to be or say I am, but it is safe too say that they do the job. My two ride or die eyeshadow palettes have been Fortune Favours the Brave by Makeup Revolution which you can read about here, and, even though I only got it for Christmas, Too Faced’s Chocolate Bon Bon palette is my life! Just so amazing both of them I cannot fault either product or price. Another palette I have loved has been the Sleek Face Contour Kit in Light. It comes with a lovely powder contour which is so easy to blend and a champagne highlight, which I find can rub off a bit of makeup sometimes but overall is good and a gorgeous shade. The Falsies mascara by Maybelline was originally a love hate relationship but now is definitely a love, considering I have naturally long lashes it’s hard to find a none-clumpy mascara, but this one just adds that last bit of length they need. And finally I can’t not mention NYX liquid lipsticks. Whether their suede, lingerie or soft matte creams, once I got the hang of applying them, none of them have disappointed me. The suede ones are probably my favourite, but they only have two natural-ish shades which is upsetting. Dear NYX please make more.

Well that was quite the ramble, no change there of course. Hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and New Year! Stick to those resolutions you’re going great, do it for me because I’m definitely not.

Thanks for reading. Until next time.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

