A Merry Little Update and a Few Things I’m Loving.

Starting this blog post much like the last one, with a month’s distance between and a ‘long time no see’. And I wish I had more of an excuse. To be honest I’ve been avoiding blogging almost as much as I’ve been avoiding college work. After an 8 week-long term any ounce of energy left in me has just about got me out of bed, and I’m not even being dramatic. My motivation is at an all time low but I’ve decided to be cliché, but actually, really, seriously, stick to it. New year, new me. Gag. I can’t believe I just wrote that. But seriously I need to get my arse in gear, but I feel like this next week of festivities and sleep is just too good an opportunity and a poor time to attempt to shift out of neutral. Only the new year makes sense. By then my organisation is going to be tip-top, with college work and revision at its peak because otherwise it’s bye-bye university, and hopefully regular blog updates (fingers crossed) because I’ve missed this a lot.

36748e232adf86bfeee0244a2693ff16

When I was younger I don’t think I ever thought my life would be this chaotic at 17. Balancing college and a part-time come full-time job is not as easy as I once thought it might be. And then Christmas comes around. I still can’t believe it’s the eve of Christmas Eve. Wasn’t September last week? It got to last weekend before I realised it was almost a week away and I had bought n o t h i n g! It was a chaotic day of last-minute shopping and wrapping but I’m finally organised. I don’t think I’ve ever seen so much money leave my bank account in one month. Bye-bye Niamh treats for a while. But it’s all worth it. Now that I earn my own money there’s nothing I love more than giving my family presents that I’ve bought and thought about. And there’s no moment I love more than waking up in my new PJ’s on Christmas Day, even if it never feels like Christmas any more. I’d love to be 5 again.

Anyways so in my avoidance of life I’ve spent most of my time wrapped up in a cocoon in the cave I call bed. I’ve been watching Gilmore Girls on Netflix and I am LOVING it. So so good. It’s such an easy watch and one of those TV shows where you fall so in love with some of the characters and relationships. What’s not to like? I’ve also been listening to Little Mix’s new album Glory Days on repeat. It’s quite bad really. Not the album, my obsession. You know when you get to that point that you’ve listened to Spotify shuffle an album so many times you know what song is going to come on next. But it’s just so good. If you haven’t listened to it already then where have you been, I mean at least I’ve been in a cultured cave.

Now occasionally I’ll watch videos on YouTube and I have a few people I rarely miss a video of. However this month has been ridiculous with about 40 new videos a day so I haven’t really been on it. When I have made that dreaded click I always land on Hannah Renee or Rachel Leary’s videos for some good gift inspiration or more than likely some holiday make up looks and some make up recommendations to add to the Christmas list. These two girls are so amazing at make up however that it gets to the point I don’t even want to bother attempting any of it because it’ll just be a lost cause. But we can watch and dream. If you need any Xmas or NYE night out looks for the next week I’d definitely give them a peep. In all this free time (that was guiltily not supposed to be free) I’m gutted that I’ve not had any books to read, but once Santa has hopefully dropped some new books off I’m aiming to squeeze them in, in my week of freedom. I’m also aiming to write about the best books I’ve read this year next week, fingers crossed.

Now I couldn’t do this much blabbing without mentioning some classic Christmas films I’ve watched to fill my time. I watched The Grinch for the first time all the way through with my cousin and sister the other day and loved it a lot more than I thought I would. I also watched Arthur Christmas for the first time yesterday and I think that definitely comes to the top end of my favourite films, I loved the elves in it. I only have a short amount of time left before the big day though and I’ve not watched Elf or The Holiday yet which I’m pretty upset about, so I definitely need to find some time to squeeze that in otherwise it definitely won’t feel like Christmas. But don’t worry, I’ve already watched Home Alone and Nativity! Twice.

Well that’s enough babbling from me, but it was good to write for the first time in a long time. Next week I will definitely be posting a ‘Year of Favourites’ about my favourite things this year. But for now..

Thanks for reading. Until next time.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

