Let’s Talk About: The ‘Fangirl’ Stigma.

Hello blog I have missed you. I really hate it when life gets in the way of me writing, but I’m hoping to be back to regular posting for now. I’m also looking to write a quick chatty post and update all the people who don’t care on my not so exciting yet ever so busy life, because why not.

jn3la1476910162

Anyway, onto todays post. I really enjoyed my last ‘Let’s Talk About’ post, and thought I’d write about something a little more overlooked today. Now I mean I’ll admit it, I’d more than likely be considered a fangirl, but it’s not as much something to be ashamed of as some people might think. There are definitely the crazy fans who send their idols beyond revolting presents and chuck all their bras on stage and chase moving vehicles and camp outside their house and basically stalk their every move. However. This is the stigma I’m trying to address. Because it isn’t like that at all. It’s so far from it. Even so I’m preparing to expose all my cringey ‘fangirl’ secrets whilst writing this so please still love me, I promise I’m sane.

Now the first thing I’ll have to admit is that I do have seperate Twitter accounts for the seperate fan bases I consider myself to be a part of. This is something I have definitely heard to be called ‘sad’ but personally I think it’s efficient. Put it this way, all of my school/college friends aren’t going to want to see my God awful cringey tweets about my favourite band’s new album on release day, however, my friends within that fandom might love to read those opinions. It’s a filter in my eyes, and gives me a way to seperate the two sides of my online life. Like Hannah Montana, if she had Twitter.

Having another account also helps you to make so many new friends you could never dream of meeting without it, or without the band for that matter. Personally, I could do a whole other post on internet friends etc. so if you’re interested let me know. What I will say here is that internet friends in a fanbase could be some of the best people you ever meet. My account helps me find and keep in touch with so many amazing people who I meet at concerts and events. It’s crazy because when you go to said places it’s almost certain these people will have a ‘fan-account’. What bugs me most is when people claim ‘You can’t make real friends online.’ I know so many people who have met their best friends online, and they’ve ended up living literally round the corner from them. But like I said, completely different debate. (Also revolves around staying completely safe!!!!)

There are literally so many pro’s I could never consider it to be sad. I am living the life of Miley. (Yes Miley not ‘Riley’ I’m linking to my Hannah Montana reference shut up.)

Now it is definitely safe to say that one of the best things for many fans is the happiness the artist brings. ‘Fangirl’ or not, you almost definitely have that one album you can listen to that will put a smile on your face no matter what. And that is literally all a fangirl thinks too. That little spot of sunshine on the bus in the morning listening to your favourite song. I mean come on, anyone can relate. The only difference is these specific fans dedicate a little bit more time into knowing how that artists day went and hoping for a little acknowledgement of their existence from their favourite band member, but wouldn’t you do the same? It’s a broad standing I think. I mean a fan is a fan. We all do the same things nowadays. Post a few pictures, write a few tweets, try not to die when said artist likes said picture or said tweet. It’s a fine line, is it not?

I think a definite stigma is the relation of depression to ‘fangirls’ which is a tentative subject on its own to say the least. I’d argue that many fans probably have used the band/artist to get them through tough times, sadly sometimes even as far as mental health issues. But there’s a recurring image of the girl who won’t come out of her room and cries because they love them and they’ll never know them. We’re stronger than that, give us some credit.

Finally I want to touch on the ‘stalking’ stigma of a fangirl. Now I’m not going to deny that I’ve waited outside a hotel to meet a band, or gone to a venue a few hours early to try to meet the performer. It does seem a bit farfetched to wait outside a hotel, I can see the line of argument. But the fact of the matter is, why not? If you know that your band/artist doesn’t mind stopping for fans outside hotels and venues given the chance (which many don’t as it’s so common now) then why the hell not? May as well have a few pictures with the people you’re ‘dedicating your fangirl life and soul to’ while you have the chance hey. It’s not like we don’t still have boundaries, most of us anyway. There are lines I personally would not cross like going anywhere near their hotel rooms/houses unless accidental or invited etc. They’re human after all. We don’t forget that.

My point is obvious really. A fangirl isn’t a 12-year-old girl/boy crying and kissing a poster, hoping that one day they will finally walk down the aisle and become Mr/Mrs Bieber. Only eat sleep and breathing song lyrics and fun facts. No. Just your average 15+ years old boy/girl sat in bed, watching Netflix and tweeting basic things, until that topless picture of their fave is posted…

Well this was a little out of my comfort zone but hope you enjoyed.

Thanks for reading. Until next time.

One thought on “Let’s Talk About: The ‘Fangirl’ Stigma.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

